Today is February 21, 2017
Feb 2017

2016 NEPGA Award Winners and Hall of Fame Inductees

Boylston, MA
 --The 2016 NEPGA Award Winners and Hall of Fame Inductees were announced today by New England PGA President, Rob Jarvis, PGA Head Golf Professional at Bangor Municipal Golf Course, Bangor, ME.


Golf Professional of the Year:
Zack Wyman, PGA GM & Director of Golf at Vermont National Country Club in South Burlington, VT has been named the recipient of the prestigious 2016 New England PGA Golf Professional of the Year Award. The Golf Professional of the Year Award is the highest honor paid to a PGA Professional within the New England Section PGA. The award is based on overall performance as a golf professional at their facility, level of service at his/her facility, level of service to his/her Section and to the Association, leadership ability, image and ability to inspire fellow professionals and promotion of golf.
Bill Strausbaugh Award:
Brendan Walsh, PGA Head Professional from The Country Club in Chestnut Hill, MA has been awarded the Bill Strausbaugh Award. The Bill Strausbaugh Award is presented to those PGA members who by their day-to-day efforts have distinguished themselves in the field of club relations, causing dramatic improvements in employment conditions in their local Section and/or the PGA of America.
Horton Smith Award:
Mike Bradshaw, PGA Head Professional from Kirkbrae Country Club in Lincoln, RI has been named the Horton Smith Award winner. The Horton Smith Award recognizes individual golf professionals for their outstanding and continuing contributions to developing and improving education opportunities for the PGA golf professional. 
The NEPGA Hall of Fame Inductees for 2016:
Jack Gale, PGA is a Teaching Professional from Cyprian Keyes Golf Club and past Head Professional at Dublin Lake Golf Club in Dublin, NH and also past Head Professional at Tatnuck Country Club in Worcester, MA.
Arthur Harris, PGA is a Life Member and was longtime Head Professional at Mt. Pleasant Country Club (currently known as The Haven Country Club) for over forty years.
The additional 2016 Award Winners are as follows.
Teacher of the Year:
Phil Truono, PGA Director of Golf at Miacomet Golf Club is the NEPGA Teacher of the Year.  
Player Development Award:
Rick Johnson, PGA at Spaulding Adaptive Sports Center is the 2016 New England Player Development Award winner. 
Youth Player Development Award:

Roman Greer, PGA Head Professional at Cranberry Valley Golf Club is the Youth Player Development Award winner.  
Patriot Award:
Jim Tobin, PGA is the Teaching Professional at Patriot Golf Course in Bedford, MA and the NEPGA Patriot Award winner.
Assistant Golf Professional of the Year:
Matthew Closter, PGA and Assistant Golf Professional at Weston Golf Club in Weston, MA is the 2016 recipient of the Assistant Golf Professional of the Year.  
Merchandiser of the Year Public Facility:
Peiter DeVos, PGA Head Professional at Kebo Valley Golf Club in Bar Harbor, ME is the Merchandiser of the Year for a public facility.
Merchandiser of the Year Private Facility:
James Antonelli, PGA Head Professional at Marshfield Country Club in Marshfield, MA is the Merchandiser of the Year Award Winner for a private facility.
Merchandiser of the Year Resort Facility:
Gary Soule, PGA Head Professional at Samoset Resort Golf Club in Rockport, ME is the recipient of the Merchandiser of the Year Award for a resort facility.
George S. Wemyss Award:
Gary Larrabee, Golf Writer and Historian from Salem, MA is The George S. Wemyss Award recipient. This award is presented to an individual who has consistently been a friend to the NEPGA and/or its members over the years, and made significant contribution to the game of golf. The individual should consistently demonstrate a high moral character, and has performed a distinctive service to the NEPGA to meet its goals or enhance its image.
Deacon Palmer Award:
William J. Flynn, PGA will receive posthumously the NEPGA Deacon Palmer Award. The "Deacon Palmer Award" bestows special recognition on a PGA Golf Professional who personally displays outstanding integrity, character and leadership, in the effort to overcome a major obstacle in their life. This individual is an unsung hero/heroine at their facility and in their community, who serve to inspire, empower and assist others, both inside and outside of the game. Bill Flynn epitomized what this award is all about.  Bill was inducted into the NEPGA Hall of Fame in 1998.
The 2016 Award Winners and Hall of Fame Inductees will be celebrated at the Annual New England Section Awards Dinner this fall at Pleasant Valley Country Club in Sutton, MA on Saturday, November 5, 2016.