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DROP

#RulesToTheMax

Max Doctoroff, PGA
Director of Rules & Competitions

If you were paying attention to the WM
Phoenix Open a couple weeks ago, surel
you heard about Charley Hoffman’s hars
criticism of the PGA TOUR, the USGA,
and the Tour’s rules officials after Hoff-
man ended up with two separate penal-
ty strokes while taking relief from a red
penalty area. The purpose of this article is
not to comment on Hoffman’s criticisms
(that’s what social media is for — you
should have no problem finding that type
of discussion if that’s what you're looking
for!). However, Hoffman’s adventures on
the 13th hole at the TPC Scottsdale did
involve several Rules of Golf, at least one
of which he admittedly didn’t understand.
As such, let’s inspect each step in Hoft-
man’s relief procedure that ended with
him incurring one more penalty stroke
than he expected. Perhaps understanding
these Rules a little better can hIe_}p 1%fou stay
out of the kind of trouble that Hoffman
experienced in Phoenix!

PING THE BALL

It all started when Hoffman hit his drive
into a red penalty area on the 13th hole of
round two.

Of the three relief options available to
him, Charley chose the lateral option
(drop within two club-lengths from the
point of entry). Having chosen this lo-
cation to take relief, it turned out that
Hoffman’s relief area was on a fairly steep
slope, and this is what caused his relief
procedure to be a bit more complicat-

ed than just dropping and l;;laying away.
When Hoffman dropped the ball'into the
relief area, it rolled down the slope and
back into the water. As they typically do,
the Rules tell us what to do when this
happens. Rule 14.3¢(2)’s title is right on
the money: “What to Do if Ball Dropped
in Right gﬁrlComes to Rest Outside Re-
lief Area” This Rule first tells us to try
again: drop a ball a second time, and see
it it will stay in the relief area. Hoffman’s
ball didn’t stay, so he moved along to step
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#3: place a ball on the spot that the second dropped ball first touched the ground. He did
this, the ball stayed put, and it was now in play and in the right place. Woohoo!

Well, maybe not woohoo. After putting his ball correctly into Iplay as described above, the
ball rolled down the slope and back into the water in the penalty area!

Now, in order to figure out what to do next, we need to determine what caused this ball

at rest to begin moving. According to the Rules, there are only four possible things that
can ever cause a ball at rest to move, and the procedures for continuing play can be dif-
ferent depending on which one caused the movement. The four possible causes are: the
player, the opponent in match play, an outside influence, and natural forces. It’s best to
run through all four possibilities in this order, since the first three require virtual certainty
(95% certainty) to proceed under the apﬁlicable Rule. Only natural forces do not require
this level of certainty. Similarly, for a ball in the general area, a ball must be replaced when
it's moved by any of the first three causes, but it must be played from its new position if it’s
moved by natural forces.

So let’s get back to Charley Hoffman’s situation, and figure out how to move forward. Are
we 95% sure that the ball was moved by Hoftman, the lplayer? No, so we can not replace
the ball under that Rule. Are we 95% sure that the ball was moved bgf Hoffman’s oppo-
nent? No, because there are no opponents in stroke play. Are we 95% sure that the ball
was moved by an outside influence? No, so we can not replace the ball under that Rule
either. Now, by process of elimination, were just left with natural forces (in this case grav-
ity, maybe helped by a bit of wind). And when a ball is moved by natural forces, the player
is now required to play from its new place. Unfortunately for Hoffman, that new place was
back in the water inside the penalty area.

What this meant for Hoffman was that he had to take relief from the }E)enalty area again,
for an additional penalty of one stroke. It’s unfortunate that it went this way for Hoffman,
but it illustrates the importance of examining all of your options when you find yourself
taking relief from penalty areas. When your lateral option seems high-risk for something
like this to hapgen, does it make sense to use the back-on-the-line option instead? Or
even stroke and distance? You may end up further from the hole, but in some situations
it makes sense to play it safe so you don't end up with double the penalty like Charley
Hoffman did. At the end of the day;, it’s up to the player to decide if the risk is worth it,
but whatever the final decision, it’s always wise to take a look at every one of your options
before you drop your ball.

ddtrke A JOOK AT EVERY ONE OF
YOUR OPTIONS BEFORE YOU
DROP THE BAIL"
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