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RULES {0

Bevond A Reasonable Doubt

Clint Eastwood famously said, “I tried being reasonable. |
didn't like it.” Unfortunately for Clint, the Rules of Golf call
on all players to act in a reasonable manner to avoid
penalties and to take maximum advantage of our rights
and privileges under the Rules. Sitting at my desk these
last few minutes, | was able to brainstorm a handful of
instances where the Rules use the word “reasonable” to
guide players - can you think of any others? (I
intentionally left at least one off this list, just to make sure

it's not an unfair exercise!)

The first, and likely most common Rule that depends on

the reasonableness of players is the concept of
“reasonable judgement” in Rule 1.3b(2). It's important to
remember that this idea only applies to questions of
location: there are times when players are required to
identify a location on the golf course, such as the point
where their ball last crossed into a penalty area, the spot
where they can place or drop a ball, the area of the course
in which the ball lies (including whether the ball lies on
the course), or whether the ball touches or is in an
abnormal course condition. These questions arise in
almost every round of golf you play, so the Rules want you
to be able to identify the correct location promptly, and
without fear of penalties for making mistakes. That's
where reasonable judgement comes in: “so long as the

player does what can be reasonably expected to

make an accurate determination, the player's reasonable
judgement will be accepted even if, after the stroke is

made, the determination is shown to be wrong.”

You'll notice before too long that most of these Rules that
lean on the reasonableness of players are intended to offer
leniency to the players, so they can perform the functions
of the Rules without worrying too much about
unintended consequences. Another example of this is in
Rule 9.4, which deals with causing your own ball at rest to
move. Generally, if you move your ball at rest you'll get a
one stroke penalty, but there are some exceptions. One of
the exceptions gives you a free pass on the penalty if you
cause your ball to move while taking “reasonable actions”
while applying a rule. This means that if you accidentally
move your ball while marking, lifting or replacing your ball
when allowed, while removing a movable obstruction,
while restoring worsened conditions when allowed, while
taking relief under a Rule, or while measuring under a
Rule, there's no penalty and you just need to replace the

ball!

A third example where being reasonable can save you
from a penalty lies in Rule 8.1b, which deals with the
Conditions Affecting the Stroke (CATS). These conditions
are your lie, area of intended stance and swing, line of
play, and the relief area where you will drop or place a ball.
In most cases, improving any of these CATS will cost you
the general penalty, but again there are exceptions. One

of these exceptions can save you from penalty if you
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improve your CATS by taking “reasonable actions” to
remove loose impediments and moveable obstructions.
But where is the line between “reasonable” and
“unreasonable?” Usually you'll know it when you see it.
Check out the video linked below for an example of that
line was crossed at this year's Hong Kong Open. While
this player was allowed to remove the large dead branch
(loose impediment) via reasonable actions, in this case
there were vines growing around the branch, so it
couldn’t be removed without tearing the vines out of the
ground in the process. Tearing growing vegetation out
of the ground is surely beyond what can be considered a
reasonable action, so this player was assessed a two

stroke penalty. Click here for the video.

Another Rule that depends on reasonableness of players
is 5.6a, which outlines the penalties for unreasonable
delay of play.lt's worth noting that this Rule addresses
individual, isolated incidents that delay play (consistent,
cumulative slow play is covered by another Rule). Since
the penalty only applies for “unreasonable” delay, the
rule book details what is considered reasonable and
what is not. Reasonable: briefly stopping at the
clubhouse for food or drink, or taking the time to consult
with others in the group to decide whether to play out
the hole when there is a normal (non-immediate)
suspension by the Committee. Unreasonable: returning
to the teeing area from the putting green to retrieve a
lost club, continuing to search for a lost ball for several

minutes
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after the three-minute search time has expired, or
stopping by the clubhouse for food or drink for more
than a few minutes if the Committee has not allowed for
it. If a delay is determined to be unreasonable, the
penalty structure is incremental: one stroke for the first
breach, general

penalty for the second, and

disqualification for the third.

The last instance I'll cover where the Rules expect us to
be reasonable has to do with taking free relief under
Rule 16. As most golfers know, we get free relief from
things like ground under repair, temporary water,
immovable obstructions, and the like. An exception to
this Rule, though, is that free relief is not allowed when
playing the ball as it lies is “clearly unreasonable,” or if
the player chooses a stance, swing, or direction of play
that is “clearly unreasonable.” A common example is
that it may not be reasonable to play a ball because of
where it lies in a bush. One useful thing to remember as
a referee, though, is that determining what is
“reasonable” can depend on the skill level (or even just
the ingenuity) of the player. Take a look at the video
linked below, which features Bill Haas' ball stuck in the
middle of a bush. While our first instinct might be that
it's unreasonable to play the ball as it lies, Haas
demonstrates that it was perfectly reasonable to do so.
Haas shows us that it's important to keep an open mind
as we give rulings, since players can often surprise us
with what they're capable of doing. Unlike Clint
Eastwood, Bill Haas tried being reasonable, and he liked
it. Click here for the video.
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https://twitter.com/StephenRoche100/status/1723599091010253213
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4InZ1FUyBSs



