RU}LE-S.
TO BE BROKEN

The 2019 Rules of
Golf blooper reel!

It's hard to believe that the 2019
NEPGA golf season has come to a
close — it's been filled with excit-
ing moments, and an adjustment
period for us all, as we have been
tasked with learning an entirely
new set of Rules, and putting
them into practice. Now that we’ve
had a full season to get used to
the new Rulebook, dropping from
knee-height has stopped feeling
so goofy, and we don’t feel so
guilty when we take our practice
swings in penalty areas. I’'m happy
to report that our NEPGA Profes-
sionals have done an admirable
job learning and following the new
Rules of Golf, and that we have
made it through the first season
without any Rules controversies
or difficulty in our Section tourna-
ments.

Unfortunately, the same can’t be
said on the PGA and LPGA Tours,
which have both seen their share
of controversies surrounding play-
ers who are having some difficulty
adjusting to the new Rules. These
controversies started right off the
bat in the spring when players
began to take penalties for their
caddies standing on an extension
of their lines of play while the play-
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ers began to take their stance (this
was commonplace enough that it
prompted the USGA to soften up
the Rule a little), and the LPGA
Tour became engulfed in an uproar
about backstopping on the putting
green. These difficulties didn’t

end in the spring though, and the
learning curve has proven to be
relatively steep even throughout
the last couple of months.

Probably

the strang-

est example
involves Jesper
Parnevik, who
was recently
penalized

two strokes
because he
didn’t take a
mulligan. Yes,
you read that
right. During the SAS Champi-
onship on the Champions Tour,
Parnevik lipped out a short bogey
putt, which then struck his foot
before coming to rest. Then he
tapped his ball in, assuming he’d
made a double bogey. Unfortu-
nately for him, that’s not the case.
According to Rule 11.1, “When
Ball Played from Putting Green

Accidentally Hits Any Person...

on Putting Green: the stroke does
not count and the original ball or
another ball must be replaced on
its original spot.” In other words,
when your ball accidentally hits
any person (including yourself)

in this scenario, it's a mandatory
mulligan. Since Jesper didn’t know
this, he unwittingly played his mulli-
gan from the wrong place (since he
didn’t replace the ball). So his first

In other words, when your
ball accidentally hits any
person (including yourself)
in this scenario, it’s a

mandatory mulligan.

putt for bogey didn’t count, but his
second one did (plus two penalty
strokes for playing from the wrong
place). Parnevik made a triple
bogey on the hole.

The most extreme lapse of Rules
knowledge of the year has to

be Lee Ann Walker’s disastrous
appearance at the Senior LPGA



Championship. While the ‘caddie
alignment rule’ had been the subject
of some controversy earlier in the
season, apparently Walker hadn’t
been watching the news, which
turned out to be very costly. Rule
10.3b(3) informs us that “A caddie is
not allowed to... deliberately stand
on or close to an extension of the
line of play behind the player’s ball
when the player begins taking a
stance for the stroke and until the
stroke is made.” The USGA did
soften the rule a bit, allowing the
player to back out of their stance
and require their caddie to move
before making the stroke, but this
was all news to Lee Ann Walker.
Walker never took advantage of

this loophole, and did not become
aware that she was in breach of the
Rule at all until part way through the
second round. When all was said
and done, Walker was required to
count the number of times that the
Rule was breached, and apply a two
stroke penalty for each occasion.

At the end of the day, this added up
to a whopping 58 penalty strokes! If
there’s a bright side to this story, it's
this: 58 penalty strokes is a LOT of
penalty strokes, but Walker would
have taken even more penalties
under the old Rules, for failing to
include those penalty strokes on her
round one scorecard. Under the new
Rules, there is no additional penalty
for failing to include penalty strokes
on her scorecard, as long as she’s
unaware that a Rule was breached.
So she has that going for her, which
is nice.

On November 10, the NEPGA
Junior Tour conducted its Fall
Awards & College Seminar

at Winchester Country Club.
This was an educational event
for all NEPGA Junior Tour
Members (and their families)
and provided an opportunity
to celebrate our Players of the
Year. Congratulations to the
following NEPGA Juniors on
their accomplishments:

GIRLS 13 & UNDER
PLAYER OF THE YEAR
Camille DeStafano

BOYS 11 & UNDER PLAYER
OF THE YEAR:
Cameron Poirier

BOYS 12-13 PLAYER
OF THE YEAR:
Owen Hamilton

BOYS 14-15 PLAYER
OF THE YEAR:
Ben Madden

GIRLS 14-18 PLAYER
OF THE YEAR:
Isabel Brozena

BOYS 16-18 PLAYER OF
THE YEAR:
Ethan Doyle

BOYS ELITE TOUR PLAYER
OF THE YEAR:
Jacob Berkio

BILL FLYNN, PGA
OVERCOMING ADVERSITY
AWARD WINNER
Nate Ingram

We are grateful of Jim Salinetti,
PGA and Winchester CC for
hosting the event. Also, thank you
to the college coaches and guest
speakers for their continued sup-
port of this event:

ALEX KIRK, PGA
Head Coach, Women’s Golf Dart-
mouth College
(Ilvy League, Division 1)

MATT ARVANITIS, PGA
Head Coach, Men’s &
Women’s Golf
Southern New
Hampshire University
(Division I1)

FRANK DRISCOLL
Head Coach, Men’s Golf
St. Anselm College
(Division 1l)

TOM SMITH, PGA
Head Coach, Men’s Golf
Endicott College
(Division Ill)

RICK DOWLING
Customer Success Leader
Junior Golf Hub

KENNY TUTTLE

Collegiate Player
Endicott College
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