BOYLSTON, Mass. — A man who has held many titles within the New England PGA will gain yet another this year, as Rob Jarvis, PGA (Bangor Municipal GC), headlines the list of 2020 NEGPA Award Winners as the Golf Professional of the Year.

Throughout his 26-year career, Jarvis has made a significant impact at both Bangor Municipal and the NEPGA. The NEPGA President from 2015-17, Jarvis was the Section’s first President from Maine and the youngest in the Section’s history. He currently serves as the President of the NEPGA Foundation, an arm of the Section he helped create during his term as President. Prior to his presidency, Jarvis served as the Maine Chapter Awards Committee Chair, and soon after was elected to the Maine Chapter Board of Directors. After serving in that capacity for several years, he was elected as the Maine Chapter District Director in 2013, a position he held until being elected as NEPGA President in 2015. At Bangor Municipal GC, Jarvis has helped grow membership by nearly 50 percent since 2016, growing from 275 members to over 400.

“Winning NEPGA Golf Professional of the Year is an incredible personal recognition, but as any prior winner will tell you, this award is really a team achievement,” Jarvis said. “I am so grateful for those around me that have played a pivotal role in any successes I may have had along the way.”

The complete list of the 11 talented golf professionals who  will be honored as 2020 NEPGA Special Award Winners includes:

Golf Professional of the Year: Rob Jarvis (Bangor Municipal GC)
Assistant Golf Professional of the Year: Jo-Anna Krupa (Belmont CC)
Patriot Award: Josh Olney (Orleans)
Player Development: Paul Coutoumas (D.W. Field GC)
Teacher of the Year: Shawn Hester (TPC Boston)
Merchandiser of the Year (Private): Graham Cunningham (Framingham CC)
Merchandiser of the Year (Resort): Gordon Swennes (Wentworth By The Sea)
Merchandiser of the Year (Public): Phill Davis (Beaver Meadow GC)
Youth Player Development: Kelli Kostick (Windham CC)
Bill Strausbaugh: Jim Salinetti (Winchester CC)
Deacon Palmer: Harry Rose (Needham GC)

The 2020 NEPGA award winners represent four of the Section’s six Chapters, including the Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont and Maine Chapters. Five of the 11 award-winners will take home a Section award for the first time.

Award winners are chosen through a selective process. After being nominated to the NEPGA Awards Committee and Board of Directors by a fellow PGA member, nominees complete and submit their application. The Awards Committee then reviews each application before making its recommendations to the NEPGA Board of Directors.

The 2020 NEPGA Awards Dinner will be Saturday, November 14 at Renaissance Golf Club in Haverhill, Mass.