HYDE PARK, Mass. – The final round of the 2023 New England PGA Section Senior Championship was held at George Wright Golf Course on Tuesday, July 25. All groups almost made it through nine holes before a storm warning brought the field inside for a delay. The storm was relentless and the NEPGA was forced to call the tournament, reverting to the final 18-hole scores for the final standings of the Championship.


Six qualifying spots for the PGA Senior Professional National Championship were up for grabs today. Jason Calhoun, PGA (Brown University), Webb Heintzelman, PGA (Turner Hill Golf & Racquet Club), Scott Hickey, PGA (Cyprian Keyes GC), Ed Kirby, PGA (The Aquidneck Club), Dale Abraham, PGA (Cape Arundel), and Todd Rollins (Laconia CC) will compete in the Senior PNC at PGA Golf Club in Port Saint Lucie, FL in October. Kirk Hanefeld, PGA (Salem CC) will also compete as he earns exemption with his 2011 senior PNC Champion title.

Due to the storm, 4 of the 5 alternate spots will be determined at a later date (TBD). David Dionne, PGA (Beverly Golf & Tennis Club) will take the 1st alternate spot. Greg Yeomans, PGA (The Bay Club at Mattapoisett), Tom Tobey, PGA (Sandwich Hollows GC), and John Hickson, PGA (Northport GC) will compete for the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th alternate spots. While 5 professionals will compete for the final spot: Frank Dully (Kernwood CC), Scott Allen (George Wright GC), Greg Farland (Marlboro CC), Brian Spitz (The Harmon Club), and Michael Zaranek (Brattleboro CC).

Following round 1 on Monday, Calhoun, Heintzelman, and Hickey were tied for first place through round one, shooting 2-under, 68s. They will compete in a playoff at a later date (TBD) for the 2023 NEPGA Senior Championship title.

Ed Kirby, PGA (The Aquidneck Club), who finished in solo 4th place on Monday with a 1-under, 69, takes the 4th qualifying spot. Abraham and Rollins, who were tied for 5th place with even-par 70s, take the 5th and 6th qualifying spots.

The 2023 NEPGA Senior Championship is presented by Cadillac and supported by Avidia Bank, the Golf Channel, Mohegan Sun, the PGA TOUR, and R.J. Shepherd.

The NEPGA would like to thank George Wright Golf Course Head Professional, Scott Allen, and the entire George Wrigh GC staff for hosting the two-day Championship.

More information regarding the playoff dates will be posted at NEPGA.com.