CONCORD, Mass. — The New England PGA honored its 2020 and 2021 Award Winners in back to back ceremonies this past week at the newly renovated Nashawtuc Country Club in Concord, Mass.  In all, 23 PGA Professionals and industry leaders were honored for their accomplishments in the game of golf in and around the New England region.

The evening was filled with impactful speeches and stories from the award winners, all of whom come from different areas of New England as all five states were represented across both evenings.  Each night featured a 3-time cancer survivor receiving the Deacon Palmer Award, given annually to a PGA Professional who has overcome significant life challenges.  Additionally, the Bill Strausbaugh Award was given each night to a Professional who has excelled in mentoring their peers, and the Sections highest honor, the Professional of the Year Award, was given each night as well.  Josh Olney, PGA of Orleans Country Club in Vermont attended each night, as he won the 2020 Patriot Award and the 2021 Professional of the Year Award.  Both nights were hosted by NEPGA Honorary President Allan Belden, and emceed by Jim Remy, PGA, Past President of the PGA of America.

The full list of 2020 and 2021 Award Winners is below, and we congratulate these deserving Professionals and industry leaders!


2020 NEPGA Award Winners

Golf Professional of the Year: Rob Jarvis, PGA (Bangor Municipal GC)

Assistant Golf Professional of the Year: Jo-Anna Krupa, PGA (Belmont CC)

Patriot Award: Josh Olney, PGA (Orleans CC)

Player Development: Paul Coutoumas, PGA (D.W. Field GC)

Teacher of the Year: Shawn Hester, PGA (TPC Boston)

Merchandiser of the Year (Private): Graham Cunningham, PGA (Framingham CC)

Merchandiser of the Year (Resort): Gordon Swennes, PGA (Wentworth By The Sea)

Merchandiser of the Year (Public): Phill Davis, PGA (Beaver Meadow GC)

Youth Player Development: Kelli Kostick, PGA (Windham CC)

Bill Strausbaugh: Jim Salinetti, PGA (Winchester CC)

Deacon Palmer: Harry Rose, PGA (Needham GC)


2021 NEPGA Award Winners

Golf Professional of the Year: Josh Olney, PGA (Orleans CC)

Assistant Professional of the Year: Ed Doherty II, PGA (Black Rock CC)

Patriot Award: Peter Doherty, PGA (Atkinson Resort)

Player Development Award: Eric Barlow, PGA (Winchester CC)

Youth Player Development Award: Seul-Ki Hawley, PGA (Winchester CC)

Teacher of the Year: Adam Kolloff, PGA (Pure Drive Golf)

Merchandiser of the Year – Private: Jim Clay, PGA (New Seabury on Cape Cod)

Golf Executive of the Year: Brian Bickford, PGA (Maine State Golf Association)

Professional Development Award: Michael Sullivan, PGA (Oyster Harbors Club)

Bill Strausbaugh Award: Eric Steindel, PGA (Wianno Club)

Deacon Palmer Award: Peter Norton, PGA (Blue Hill CC)

George S. Wemyss Award: Bob Ward (Rhode Island Golf Association)


Additionally, six individuals were inducted into the New England PGA Hall of Fame.  Four were considered “Legends” and inducted posthumously, while two were in-person on Saturday evening.  Willie & Georgina Campbell, Tom McNamara, PGA and Harold “Jug” McSpaden were inducted posthumously on Friday evening, with the great grandsons of McNamara and the Campbell’s on-hand to accept on their behalf.   Saturday evening, Tom Cavicchi, PGA of The Harmon Club and Ron Philo, Jr., PGA of Victoria National Golf Club were inducted in front of family and friends as the two newest members of the NEPGA Hall of Fame.

Award winners are selected through a thorough process. Chapter award winners are advanced to become Section nominees, and additional nominees are submitted to the NEPGA Awards Committee and Board of Directors by a fellow PGA member.  Nominees then complete their award application and the Awards Committee carefully reviews each application before making its recommendations to the NEPGA Board of Directors.  The 2022 Award Nomination Process will begin later this month, with winners announced in the spring.