BOYLSTON, Mass. — Before the New England PGA opens a new decade of competition with the 2021 Tournament Season next month, the Section will celebrate the top players of the last decade in a head-to-head bracket showdown that will culminate in recognizing the NEPGA’s Player of the Decade.

The top 16 NEPGA Professionals from 2011-2020 have been selected for the Player of the Decade bracket and will go head-to-head until only one remains. Fan voting will take place on NEPGA Instagram, Facebook and Twitter accounts and the winner of the fan vote will be announced along with the official NEPGA Player of the Decade on March 29.

Player performance in NEPGA Championships, Avidia Bank Cup, Omega Player of the Year standings, National Championships, along with other Section events, will be taken into consideration to determine the NEPGA Player of the Decade. 

A trio of three-time Section Champions are among the 16 NEPGA Professionals selected for the Player of the Decade bracket, including two who won three within the last decade, Rich Berberian Jr., PGA (2014, 2015, 2018) and Shawn Warren, PGA (2013, 2019, 2020). Kirk Hanefeld, PGA (2000, 2001, 2003) rounds out that group with a resume highlighted by three NEPGA Senior Championships in the last decade (2017, 2018, 2020).

While there is no shortage of all-time talent among the NEPGA ranks over the previous 10 years, only one player can be the official NEPGA Player of the Decade. That recognition will go to the top player as determined by the New England PGA based on performance from 2011-2020, and will be determined separately from the “Fan Vote” winner.

Eric Barlow, PGA
Rich Berberian Jr., PGA
Bob Bruso, PGA
Frank Dully, PGA
Boomer Erick, PGA
Liam Friedman, PGA
Kirk Hanefeld, PGA
John Hickson, PGA
Eddie Kirby, PGA
Jeff Martin, PGA
Troy Pare, PGA
Ron Philo, PGA
Jeff Seavey, PGA
Dan Venezio, PGA
Shawn Warren, PGA
Matt Zdon, PGA