BOYLSTON, Mass. – The New England PGA is excited to announce the 2024 Section Award Winners.

The 2024 Awards are headlined by Glenn Kelly, PGA (Woods Hole Golf Club) who has been named the NEPGA Golf Professional of the Year.

Kelly is the Head Golf Professional at Woods Hole Golf Club, a position that he has held since 1986. He joined the Golf Industry as an Assistant to Andy Froude, PGA at Charles River CC in 1981. Along the way, Kelly worked for Les Kennedy at Pawtucket CC in 1982, Don Ross from 1983-1984 at Glastonbury Hills CC, and then moved to Woods Hole GC in 1985 as an assistant to Herman “Dutch” Wessner. 

“I am as delighted as I am honored – and I am truly honored,” said Kelly. “You don’t start a career in golf with the goal of winning an award as prestigious as this one. It’s for notable people who have accomplished so much throughout their careers… so I find myself truly speechless.”

Kelly attained his PGA of America Professional Membership in 1988 and has excelled in many areas, specifically Golf Shop Operations and Tournament Operations.

Over the years Kelly has served the Section on the Junior Golf Committee, Awards Committee, and Finance Committee. He also served as the Cape Cod Chapter Tournament Chair in 1987 as well as the Chapter District Director from 2011-2014 and 2015-2018.

“I try to lead by example,” said Kelly. “I urge my fellow Professionals to give it a try when you are called to service. You will look back as I do with pride and you will serve as an example for the next generation.”

Kelly was awarded the New England PGA Cape Cod Chapter Golf Professional of the Year Award in 2009 and 2022. In 2023 he earned the Francis Ouimet Scholarship Fund Professional of the Year Award.

Kelly has been active in the growth of the game of golf over the years. He attributes his success in the growth of the game to the professional staff at Woods Hole GC. 

“Whenever possible, I try to volunteer my time giving lessons to junior golfers, free of charge,” said Kelly. “I hope as I near retirement I can do more of that.”

Kelly participated in 18 Golf Fights Cancer Marathons, raising close to $250,000. He has also participated in two Francis Ouimet Golf Marathons and hosted the Eastern Amputee Golf Association for the past 38 years.

Kelly’s peers say he is the definition of what a PGA Professional should be. He is a student of the game, a mentor to his staff, and a valuable employee to his club.

“I want to thank the Board of Governors and the Membership at Woods Hole Golf Club for their support over the past 39 years. I am so fortunate to work at the most wonderful facility in New England with the kindest, most generous group of people. I want to thank all of my co-workers, both past and present, and numerous mentors,” Kelly concluded.

Kelly is one of 13 individuals to earn recognition of their service and dedication to their profession as the NEPGA announced its full slate of 2024 award winners. 

The complete list of the 13 individuals recognized as 2024 NEPGA Award Winners includes:

Golf Professional of the Year: Glenn Kelly, PGA (Woods Hole GC)

Assistant Professional of the Year: Thomas Fernandes, PGA (Worcester CC)

Sales Representative(s) of the Year: Jeff & Sandy DiBona

Deacon Palmer Award: Tony DiGiorgio, PGA (Crystal Lake GC)

George S Wemyss Award: John Lawrence (Tournament Solutions)

Bill Strausbaugh Award: Chris Twombly, PGA (Prouts Neck GC)

Patriot Award: Matt Moison, PGA (Green Hill GC)

Teacher of the Year: David Jankowski, PGA (Golf Garage VT)

Player Development Award: Darren Falk, PGA (Holly Ridge)

Youth Player Development Award: Jim Tobin, PGA (Patriot GC)

Merchandiser of the Year Resort: John King, PGA (Poland Spring Resort)

Merchandiser of the Year Public: Cory Mansfield, PGA (Derryfield CC)

Merchandiser of the Year Private: Rhett Bishop, PGA (Renaissance GC)

The 2024 NEPGA award winners represent all six of the Section’s Chapters: Cape Cod, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

“I would like to extend my congratulations to all of our 2024 Award Winners,” said NEPGA President, Chip Johnson, PGA. “These individuals have made an incredible impact on not only their own clubs, but the NEPGA Section as a whole. We are so honored to have such a talented group of individuals in our Section, and we look forward to what the future has in store.”

Award winners are chosen through a selective process. After being nominated to the NEPGA Awards Committee and Board of Directors by a fellow PGA member, nominees complete and submit their application. The Awards Committee then reviews each application before making its recommendations to the NEPGA Board of Directors.