BOYLSTON, Mass. – The 11 New England PGA Professionals and one NEPGA Partner who will be recognized for their hard work, dedication and success as 2019 NEPGA Special Award Winners have been announced. The group of honorees will be honored during the annual NEPGA Awards Banquet this fall, and includes:

Robert Green, PGA – Tedesco Country Club (Golf Professional of the Year)
Justin Lawson, PGA – Nashua Country Club (Horton Smith Award)
James Chojnowski, PGA – Framingham Country Club (Assistant Golf Professional of the Year)
Alexander Kirk, PGA – Hanover Country Club at Dartmouth College (Patriot Award)
Sean McTernan, PGA – Brae Burn Country Club (Player Development Award)
Jennifer Hudson, PGA – Sankaty Head Golf Club (Teacher of the Year)
Amanda & Jack Davis, PGA – Essex County Club (Merchandiser of the Year: Private)
Jesse Schechtman, PGA – Hyannis Golf Course (Merchandiser of the Year: Public)
Darren Falk, PGA – Holly Ridge Golf Club (Youth Player Development)
John Paesani, PGA – Bay Club at Mattapoisett (Deacon Palmer Award)
Cliff Thompson – Avidia Bank (Wemyss Award)

Robert Green will accept one of the most prestigious awards of the year as the PGA Professional of the Year honoree. Green has dedicated nearly 50 years of service to Tedesco Country Club (Marblehead, Mass.), and has served as the club’s Head Professional for 40 years (1978-present). In that time, Green has overseen the Club’s remarkable growth, marked by exponential increases in merchandise sales, advancement of Assistant Professionals and outside operations staff, and rounds played. The award will be the most recent in an outstanding career for Green, one that includes the inaugural 2017 Francis Ouimet Scholarship Fund Professional of the Year, the 2006 NEPGA Bill Strausbaugh, and the 2003 NEPGA Eastern Mass Chapter Horton Smith Awards.

Six awards will be presented to first-time recipients this year, while five will go to honorees who have previously been recognized as section or chapter award winners, in New England or otherwise. The 2019 New England PGA Awards Banquet will be held Saturday, November 2nd at Cyprian Keyes GC in Boylston, Mass.

Award winners are chosen after a thorough and selective process. After being nominated to the NEPGA Awards Committee and Board of Directors by a fellow PGA member, nominees complete and submit their application. The Awards Committee then reviews each application before making its recommendations to the NEPGA Board of Directors.