NEPGA Wogan Player of the Year
Presented by Omega

Eugene Wogan began his distinguished golf career when he began caddying at Oakley Country Club in Watertown, Massachusetts at the age of twelve. The eminent Donald Ross was the Head Professional at Oakley and he picked "Skip" as he liked to call him as his personal caddie and later as his assistant golf professional. When in 1910, Donald Ross took the Head Professional job at Essex County Club in Manchester, Massachusetts, he took young Wogan with him. After three years, Ross left Essex to serve at Pinehurst, recommending Skip Wogan as his replacement. Wogan remained as Head Professional and greens keeper at Essex until his death in 1957. As a protégé of Ross, Skip became active in course design and in expanding the concept of the Essex style four ball. Some of Wogan's courses during this period were Blue Hills in Canton, MA; Bellevue in Melrose, MA; Sankaty Head on Nantucket Island in MA; and Webhannet and a nine-hole course for an Essex member appropriately named "Labor in Vain."

Skip also became a renowned maker of scoreboards locally, then gained national attention for his board designs. He was a guru of the Rules of Golf and could quote them verbatim when necessary. Skip Wogan was one of the founders of the PGA of America as the Current New England PGA and was the Section's first President. Skip was also active on national PGA's Board of Directors. In recognition of his tireless work on behalf of the Association, the NEPGA named its Player of the Year Award after him. Essex County Club has also named their premier trophy the Skip Wogan Trophy, in recognition of his outstanding service to their members. In 1957, after forty-seven years at Essex, Skip Wogan passed away.


2017 Rich Berberian, Jr.


2017 Rich Berberian, Jr.
2016 Rich Berberian, Jr.
Shawn Warren
2014 Shawn Warren
2013 Shawn Warren
2012 Ed Kirby
2011 John Hickson
2010 Jeffrey Martin
2009 Jeffrey Martin
2008 Jeffrey Martin
2007 John Hickson
2006 Frank Dully II
2005 Ron Philo Jr.
2004 Ron Philo Jr.
2003 Ron Philo Jr.
2002 Kirk Hanefeld
2001 Mike Baker
2000 Kirk Hanefeld
1999 Mike San Filippo
1998 John Hickson
1997 Paul Parajeckas
1996 Dana Quigley
1995 John Hickson
1994 Dana Quigley
1993 Dana Quigley
1992 Bob Lendzion
1991 Dana Quigley
1990 Mike San Filippo
1989 Paul Parajeckas
1988 Jeff Bailey
1987 Dana Quigley
1986 Dana Quigley
1985 Dana Quigley

1984 Jeff Bailey
1983 Jeff Bailey

1982 Rick Karbowski
1981 Jeff Bailey
1980 Paul Moran
1979 Jay Dolan
1978 Joe Carr
1977 Paul Barkhouse
1976 Charley Volpone
1975 Tom McGuirk
1974 Charley Volpone
1973 Charley Volpone
1972 Charley Volpone
1971 Charley Volpone
1970 Charley Volpone
1969 Paul Barkhouse
1968 Ross Coon
1967 Jim Browning
1966 Ross Coon
1965 Jim Browning
1964 Bill Ezinicki
1963 Bob Crowley
1962 Bob Crowley
1961 Bob Crowley
1960 Bill Ezinicki
1959 Bob Crowley
1958 Bill Ezinicki
1957 Bob Crowley
1956 Jim Browning
1955 John Thoren
1954 John Thoren
1953 Phil Friel


















2018 Avidia Cup Standings
Click Here!

For Avidia Cup Points Breakdown
Click Here!

Click Here for 1st/10th Tee Standings
Standings through May 15, 2018

Event Breakdown

2017 Wogan Award Winner


2017 PGA Professional Champion

Rich Berberian, Jr., PGA